From BreakUp To MakeUp Adele Gives Us 25

British songtress, Adele, has broken a new record with her latest album 25. With the rather conscious decision to keep her album off of streaming services such as Apple Music, Spotify, and TIDAL, the “Hello” singer was able to sell 2.3 millon copies in the first three days. The only other artist to reach such a vast success in one body of work was N’SYNC’s No Strings Attached 15 years ago. Aside, from Adele’s exclusive release to fans, her powerful vocals and resilience shines through this album more than ever.

21 was the break-up album for a lot of us, but we can look to the latest 11-track studio album for the opposite. It tells the story of the many trial and tribulations through Adele’s writers block and time off from the industry, nonetheless she managed to show her adversity within her relationships and with herself in this heartfelt project, that encourages you to makeup with friends, exes, and any issues you may have with yourself.

The album opens with the piano ballad “Hello” that takes on a heavy soul influence. The British singer reflects on memories with her past lover, the regrets that stem from that relationship, and the ways the tables have turned. In 21, Adele sung the sorrows of a heartbroken woman, now she’s the one inflicting the pain. In an attempt to make peace and right her wrongs, she finds herself having trouble getting that opportunity.

“Hello from the other side/ I must’ve called a thousand times/ To tell you I’m sorry, for everything that I’ve done/ But when I call you never seem to be home.”

“Send My Love (To Your New Lover)” takes on a more passive-aggressive vibe then the other tracks on the album. This track is about closure and coming to terms with the failures that has happened in previous relationships. In this track Adele had to makeup and come to terms with herself in order to let this person go. It’s bittersweet, yet it’s a toast to maturity.

“I’m giving you up/ I’ve forgiven it all/ You set me free, oh. Send my love to your new lover /Treat her better/ We’ve gotta let go of all of our ghosts/ We both know we ain’t kids no more/ Send my love to your new lover.”

Making a turn in emotions, Dele dedicates a song for her son, Angelo, and everyone she loves in her life. The 27-year old UK start reminds both her son and listeners that, she will always be your remedy regardless of what you’re going through.

“But when the pain cuts you deep/ When the night keeps you from sleeping/ Just look and you will see/ That I will be your remedy/ When the world seems so cruel/ And your heart makes you feel like a fool/ I promise you will see/ That I will be, I will be your remedy.”

Lastly, in “I Miss You” Adele channels every intimate emotion one can feel in a deep relationship, from sex to arguments to silence. She reveals that to truly love someone you have to love and appreciate each piece of them from the good, the bad, and the ugly. No relationship is built on perfect acts and she wouldn’t want it that way.

“I want every single piece of you/ I want your heaven and your oceans too/ Treat me soft but touch me cruel/ I wanna teach you things you never knew/ Bring the floor up to my knees/ Let me fall into your gravity/ And kiss me back to life to see/ Your body standing over me.”

Adele’s glorious voice trumps all with album and it truly shows what beautiful creation can come from unstable beginnings.

Leave a Reply

