The Art of Procrastination – And How to Overcome It

If I had a dollar for every time I said I’d do something tomorrow rather than today, I’d be rich by now. I am a professional procrastinator and I know it. It’s not that I’m an underachiever, I’m actually the total opposite; but I know me and I work very well under pressure which is why I sometimes tend to put things off for another day. However, this is not healthy. Procrastinating keeps my thoughts all over the place and has my mind running nonstop. If you’re anything like me, you know you need to stop putting things off and focus and starting today, we’re in this together.

Step 1: Know Yourself and Your Limitations

When I say know yourself and your limitations, I mean know what kind of worker you are and what kind of environment works for you. If being in a room with a television distracts you, know that you need to leave that room. If you know you can’t work in a messy space, clean it up. This will help you center and focus.

Step 2: Set Deadlines

When it comes to my writing, I try and type atleast 1,000 words a day on any story I’m working on. It may not seem like alot but I purposely set the bar at a consistent number because nine times out of ten, I surpass that. Set boundaries and goals for yourself to meet. Thank me later.

Step 3: Eliminate All Distractions

Go back to Step 1 and make a list of all the things that distract you. The TV, Twitter, Facebook, your cell phone – jot it all down. Once you’ve got your list compiled, get rid of them. I don’t mean throw them away –  I mean turn them off for thirty minutes to an hour at a time. No matter how interesting your timeline might be, that newsfeed will still be there when the hour is up. Imagine how much work you could get done if you put your devices on hold.

Are you ready to tell procrastination you are not the one?

By Monique C. Tillman

Leave a Reply

