“I’d Rather Be Over-Worked than Unemployed” -Anna Kendrick

Anna Kendrick2

29-year old actress Anna Kendrick admits pushing herself to working 14 hours a day on a regular basis is difficult, but she would rather be over-worked than unemployed.

She told the new issue of America’s Glamour magazine: “As an actress you’re perpetually about to be unemployed. That fear – when you have two parents who worked 9-to-5 jobs and went through periods of being unemployed – is real. Those were not welcome times in my childhood. Working 14 hours a day isn’t sustainable, but I prefer it [to doing fewer films]. I might as well be doing the thing that I wanted to do my whole life.”

She also spoke on the issue that women are seen as secondary when it comes to casting, but she believes there are a lot of very talented women in Hollywood.

She said: “There’s [a film I’m considering] now where I have to wait for all the male roles to be cast before I can even become a part of the conversation. Part of me gets that. [But] part of me is like, ‘What the f**k? You have to cast for females based on who’s cast as males?’

“To me, the only explanation is that there are so many f***ing talented girls, and from a business standpoint it’s easier to find women to match the men. I totally stand by the belief that there are 10 unbelievably talented women for every role.”

I heard that Anna! I might complain about my job every single day but I’d much rather go to work everyday than to go to the unemployment office on a daily.

By Monique C. Tillman

Leave a Reply

