Monica Debuts ‘Code Red’ Look to Go With New Album

by Samantha Denäe

monica-600x800 Photo Cred: People Magazine

Monica’s back with a new album AND a new look! The veteran R&B songstress debuted her new sassy and fiery red short hair in celebration of her seventh studio album, “Code Red”. The Grammy winner explains to People.com how her new album was the inspiration for her new hair color and that the style itself came from her first record, ‘Miss Thang’.

“The cut symbolizes me getting back to the fearlessness and courageous part of myself that I shared with the world in the ’90s when I released my first album ‘Miss Thang’. It’s easy to over-think things and not trust your natural instincts. I let go and let the music be created in my truth.”

Additionally, her bold, new look reflects the place she’s in today.

“I love that the cover speaks to how I feel as a woman, artist, mother and wife. I feel strong, encouraged and grateful. I also love that it’s fashion forward.”

In the cover, Monica rocks a neon yellow outfit that consists of a Versace jacket, Hervé Léger bathing suit and Guiseppe Zanotti caged heels. Monica, being as stylish as she is, states that there are no fashion regrets from her career.

“I embrace my cross color stage just as much as I embrace and appreciate my sophisticated moments. It’s been a fun journey and it’s awesome to look back at all of my many style changes over 20 years.”

And she’s had plenty! From short to long hair, dark to bold and daring hair colors, Monica can pull off anything even when it comes to fashion choices – you guys remember that outfit she wore to the Grammys the year she won for ‘The Boy is Mine’ with Brandy? Vintage fashion!

She does wish, however, that she would have embraced and loved her scars and what makes her “unique” sooner.

I’m definitely excited about Monica’s new “Code Red” album. I’ve been waiting on Monica’s epic return to music for quite some time now and the thing that I love about her the most, is that she’s real – 100% real and is just as humble as if she’s just entered the game. Her spirit is refreshing, who else would go live out a life dream of being a nurse? No one!

The Instagram tease of her new music was just enough to get fans ready, werk Miss Thang, WERK!

Are you excited for Monica’s new album?

Follow me on Instagram @samanthadenae08

Leave a Reply

