[New Music]: Kendrick Lamar ‘The Blacker The Berry’

You sabotaged my community, makin’ a killin’ ~ Kendrick Lamar

Fresh off his first Grammy win at this year’s ceremony, rapper or shall we say “Grammy Award Winning” rapper…okay, you get the point.

No less, Kendrick Lamar dropped a new track called “The Blacker The Berry.” Don’t worry though, it has nothing to do with its usual, sensual connotation, but instead takes on social issues.

The Boi-1da produced track comes one day after his two wins (Best Rap Performance/Best Rap Song) for the song “i.”

With lyrics like:

I’m the biggest hypocrite in 2015

Once I finish this, witnesses will convey just what I mean

Been feeling this way since I was 16, came to my senses

You never liked us anyway, f**k your friendship, I meant it

I’m African-American, I’m African

I’m black as the moon, heritage of a small village

Pardon my residence

Came from the bottom of mankind

My hair is nappy, my d**k is big, my nose is round and wide

You hate me don’t you?

You hate my people; your plan is to terminate my culture

You f***n‘ I want you to recognize I’m a proud monkey

You vandalize my perception but can’t take from me

Check out the track below:

Review: The Boi-1da and Terrace Martin produced track is one aggressively great song. Lamar has yet to deliver mediocre work and this track is no different.

He brings awareness in the form of so many storytellers just with his own styling and nothing short of amazing. The dark beats and intro and give you quite a scare given its conscionable  lyrics, but again Lamar’s message gets conveyed nicely on this song.

The transition mark towards the end rounds out in peace, almost allowing a hopeful showcase towards a future that’s unknown. He speaks to your essence, your thought pattern while implementing a form of a cultural awareness towards black lives.

During last year’s climatic and challenging times over the senseless killings of black men, , “The Blacker The Berry” is a much needed record.

Leave a Reply

