Jazmine Sullivan Tackles ‘I Have Nothing’ By Whitney Houston

Just sang baby, just sang…

When it comes to vocal talent Jazmine Sullivan, she can do now wrong with her contralto voice. Okay, well maybe not to her fans.

She’s been compared to the greats such as Phyllis Hyman ( a lil’ old skool for you) and even Lauryn Hill. Despite being snubbed after a strong debut during the 2009 Grammy’s, Sullivan’s voice is an accolade all of its own. However, that gold trophy ain’t gone hurt one bit.

No less, Sullivan made headlines back in 2011 when she announced that she was quitting music. She gave a little insight as to why during an interview with Madame Noire saying:

 “It was a lot of different things that made me feel like I needed to take a break. And it was a lot of personal things,” she shares. “It was some things as far as the industry and my work. But what’s most important to me is that I did get that time to kind of mature and in that time, I’m still working on it, but I feel like I’m so much more comfortable with myself and who I am and I what I have to offer to the world and to the industry. More so than when I first started.”

Well, fast forward to now…

Last year, Sullivan’s choice singles for release included “Dumb” that featured fellow Philly native Meek Mill and “Forever Don’t Last.” Both songs will be included on her upcoming album, “Reality Show.”

Between making appearances to support her new material and gearing up for the release of “Reality Show,” Sullivan found time to record a soulful rendition of Whitney Houston’s “I Have Nothing” for VIBE’s “V Sessions.”

“I Have Nothing” peaked at no. 4 on the charts for Houston back in 1993. In the case of Sullivan, fans will see the contralto singer change registers in a song that has a pallet made for sopranos.  Think about Christina Aguilera’s 2001 BET Awards performance of “Run to You.”

Backed by a piano, Sullivan manages to deliver the song with short runs and solid notes. Check out the 27-year-old’s rendition below:

Fans can pre-order Sullivan’s upcoming album, “Reality Show”, here. Lifetime’s “Whitney” will premiere on Jan. 17 starring “America’s Next Top Model” alum Yaya DaCosta

Leave a Reply

