Fashion Feature: Who got next?

CalapobyCarey

Fashion Feature

Calapo by Carey

As I arrived at Mr. Power’s design studio in South West Atlanta, it had a very melodic vibe. The air was filled of vanilla bean fragrance with the sound of “The Weekend: Trilogy” playing over the surround sound. I was immediately offered a cup of hot tea by his extremely stylish assistant. She was dressed in an all-black midi turtleneck dress, hair pulled a sleek bun with the most natural unnatural make up application.

I have known of Calapo by Carey for quite some time, I met Mr. Powers when he was a junior studying at SCAD (Savannah College of Art and Design).  He has always had a very serene demeanor. Carey graduated from SCAD in May 2009 with a Bachelor of Art in Fashion Design.  I have never questioned his ability to become a top designer.  His work has been featured on Social Media Mogul Karen Civil; R&B Divas ATL cast members Latavia and Mela.

His personal style is very classic and clean cut (in my opinion) however, if you are looking for that in his design it is not what you will find. Mr. Powers pushed the envelope with some of his Haute Couture designs from his show in spring 2014. Here’s what he had to say about how Calapo by Carey become not just a vision but a reality:

When did you fall in love with fashion?

I fell in love with fashion in the 90’s growing up as a child watching my mother and grandmother dress when fashion was colorful and fun.

Who/what is your greatest inspiration when you’re designing?

I am inspired everything around me from pop culture to old Hollywood glamour to street trends and I put them all together.

When was your first fashion show?

My senior collection show at SCAD in 2009 then I had my own show in 2010 in Atlanta.

What’s your fashion forecast for spring 2015?

As far as spring fashion is concerned, I see a lot of Retro inspiration from the 70s coming in to play; along with a new play on prints.  I see more geometric prints and moving away from floral and pastels.

How would you describe Calapo by Carey?

Calapo by Carey is an affordable luxury brand.

Where do you see Carey Powers in the next 5 years?

In the next 5 years I want to become a go to person in the fashion industry and I defiantly want to become a red carpet designer and dress celebs for award shows and events.

Finish the following sentence: I love to see a woman wear _____?

A gown that fits like a glove. I love to see women in a silhouette that accentuates her curves.

-FreStyleN

One thought on “Fashion Feature: Who got next?”

Leave a Reply

